No nonsense

Went for relief teaching duty today. I think i’m getting good at showing a stern and “dont give me any nonsense” face to the students. The last period of the day was science. When i entered the class, everyone was at their seats reading their story books. Then, a boy carried his chair and sat next to another friend. Obviously, he wanted to talk to his friend. I couldn’t allow him to. If i did, the rest would follow suit and its only a matter of time before everyone starts moving around to talk to their friends. I folded my arms, looked at him and asked, “Where do you think you are going? Get back to your desk now.” and he did as told.

Few minutes later, i had to scold a few boys sitting in front for making noises. Then, i saw this boy laying his head on the table. I thought he was secretly talking to his friend. So, i asked him to stand up. I think he didnt know i was referring to him. Then, i stood up and pointed at him. Everyone went, “Huh? Him? He is the class monitor. Prefect somemore.” Instantly, i felt embarrassed. Because, i thought that boy was talking. Actually, he wasn’t. He was quietly reading a book while laying his head on the table. I was wrong. and i couldn’t possibly say, “Oh, ok. Sit down now.” I let him stand for a few minute before asking him to sit down again. I felt guilty scolding a boy who didn’t do anything wrong.

Know what made my day? Another boy kept turning behind to say something to his friend. I made him stand. and when i asked him to sit down, he apologetically said “Sorry Teacher.” I felt, “Wow! That “dont give me any nonsense” look really worked” haha. I think i’m getting good at maintaining discipline in class.

Photobucket

2 Responses to “No nonsense”

  1. Hey teacher i found you lol. Add me alright tc!

  2. there you are! add me alright! tc !

Leave a comment